SATERN National Liaison Newsletter

letterhead

 

TO: All SATERN Operators

Greetings:

BREAKING NEWS ALERT: NET CONTROL & RELAY STATIONS NEEDED ON 14.265 MHz
ON MONDAY, 21 AUGUST 2017 – 1400 Z to 2200 Z

Any SATERN operator who can help should contact Net Manager Ken Gilliland (AG6SV) at AG6SV(at)ATT(dot)net.

SATERN is activating the International SATERN SSB Net on 14.265 MHz at a DELTA II status from 1400 Z to 2200 Z on Monday, 21 August 2017. This is to support the American Red Cross and the ARRL which are activating numerous local units of both organizations in the path of eclipse totality nationwide. The concern is that the millions of people – estimated to be about 7.5 million – flowing into the narrow path of totality across the United States may result in an overload and disruption of the normal communications infrastructure. If this occurs, ARES will support the American Red Cross with communications locally and use the International SATERN SSB Net as a national communications path for long–range communications to American Red Cross regional and national headquarters.

NEWSLETTER:

Open the pdf attachment for this week’s newsletter: (See attached file: Newsletter - Newsletter-2017-08-17.pdf PDF 709.8Kb )

CALENDAR REMINDERS:

The INTERNATIONAL SATERN SSB NET is on 14.265.0 MHz on Monday through Saturday at 11:00 AM (ET) / 10:00 AM (CT), 0900 (MT), 0800 (PT)

The INTERNATIONAL SATERN DIGI–NET is on 14.065.0 MHz on Saturdays at 1:00 PM (Eastern) / 12:00 PM (Central). Default mode is OLIVIA 8/500 (8 Tones, 500 Wide) offset by the standard 1000 Hz. The pre-net begins one hour earlier and stations can use NetLogger on the internet to follow along.

The CENTRAL TERRITORY SATERN HF SSB NET is on 7.265.0 MHz Saturdays at 14:30 Z / 09:30 AM (CT) [NOTE NEW TIME!!]

The EASTERN TERRITORY SATERN HF SSB NET will be reactivated in the near future. Watch this space for updates.

The SOUTHERN TERRITORY SATERN HF SSB NET is on 7.262.0 MHz Saturdays at 11:00 AM (Eastern) / 10:00 AM (Central). The pre-net begins one half hour earlier and stations can use NetLogger on the internet to follow along.

The WESTERN TERRITORY SATERN HF SSB NET is on 3.977.7 MHz Sundays at 0400 Z / 10:00 PM (Mountain) / 9:00 PM (Pacific). The pre-net begins two hours earlier and stations can use NetLogger on the internet to check-in and monitor the net.


# # #

Check out Disaster.SalvationArmyUSA.org for the latest in news about
The Salvation Army Emergency Disaster Services and SATERN.

# # #

signature
Rev. 1.00 2017-09-25 AD5XJ